Automatically Cancel Provisional Bookings After a Certain Time Period

This is a feature requested by many Anytime users who wanted the system to automatically cancel a provisional booking after a defined time period set by themselves.

This feature will only cancel bookings made online by the guest who have not paid within your defined time period and does not affect any telephone bookings you make in a provisional state. 

Go to Setup > Configuration > Units > Choose the unit you’d like to set this for > Then tick the ‘Automatically Cancel Provisional Bookings’ to enable > Then define the number of hours you prefer. There is a maximum of 100 hours, or just over 4 days.

You will need to have both the Provisional and Cancelled booking email templates enabled to use this feature. 

 

How do I keep a booking that’s provisional? 

To stop the system from automatically cancelling a booking after your preferred time period, go to the booking in question and untick the provisional flag. This ensures that the booking is no longer provisional.

 

 

Can I still check if the system or a person cancelled a booking? 

When you look at your cancelled bookings, open the booking and you’ll see in red ‘this booking has been cancelled’. If there is no initials for the user, the system has automatically cancelled the booking for you.

 

 

Can I un-cancel a booking? 

No. There is currently no facility to un-cancel a booking. Your customer can either make a new booking through your website or you can, in the admin area. It will be slightly quicker as the customer record is already saved for your customer to login or for you to find the customer in your Customer Records.

I don’t seem to see this new setting to automatically cancel provisional bookings? 

If you do not see this setting in your account, this will be because your account is currently using the ‘No Payment = No Booking‘ facility. This will need to be switched off by our Anytime HelpDesk team for you to use this feature instead. By the end of November 2017 the No Payment = No Booking function will be discontinued. 

If you use this feature, do give us your feedback!

Wendy